Error processing SSI file


Wednesday, April 11, 2001
3025 KU School of Nursing

Members Present: J. Koehler, K. Wambach, S. Parker, N. King, C.Teel, S. Hanson, J. Nowak, D. Reiser, S Forbes, B Langner

Meeting called to order at 4:05 p.m. by Cindy Teel. The minutes were reviewed from the March 14, 2001 Executive Board Meeting and approved with corrections.

Karen Wambach was not able to be at the meeting and submitted a document of the current budget. (See Attachment I) Karen still has the following inductees who have not responded as to their attendance to the banquet: 15 undergraduate students; 8 graduate students; and one community member.

Diana Reiser reminded everyone that the Spring Induction Banquet is at the Ritz Charles on Thursday May 17. It was noted that there is plenty of parking there, including sufficient handicap parking. A proposed layout for the head table, and induction ceremony was discussed. The Registration Table and Bar will be in the same room as the dinner, with Registration beginning at 5:30 p.m. The Dinner will start at 6:15 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:30 p.m. Discussion was held regarding continuation of the practice of passing out carnations to inductees. Due to cost and awkwardness of holding the flowers, it was decided to delete this tradition. Flowers will be on the head table and induction table and two programs will have a mark or sticker on them - to be used as a door prize for these floral arrangements. Tables will seat eight. Each committee is asked to create a one-page description of their committee's activities and include places for inductees or members to sign up. These will be placed at a table or on an easel in the room. The Executive Board is asked to be at the Ritz Charles at 4:30 p.m. to set up for the event.

Biennial Convention Awards Jo Ellen Greischar-Billiard and Jeanne Schott submitted the 'On-line RN to BSN' program for a 'Technology Award'. Cindy Teel and Barb Langner created the document for Dean Miller for the 'Dean's Award'.

Key Award Preparation Strategy Annual reports combined with the Treasurer's Report and the activities of the Delta Chapter make up materials that support the Key Award application. Additional members are needed to put the Key Award materials together. Examples of strategies include an archivist and task force. How can we have more membership involvement in putting the Key Award together? This year's award includes Annual Reports written by the President and Treasurer's Report. The Key Award is probably best done by the Board as a group and not left to 1 or 2 people.

Cindy thought she could copy the sections that go with each board member's position and then give those copies to board members to review to start looking over in preparation for Key Award criteria.

Committee Reports:

By-Laws Committee had nothing to report.

Julie Koehler had nothing to report from the Nominating Committee. (The slate of Candidates for Offices went out in the Spring newsletter).

Susan Parker reported that the Research and Travel Awards committee had made the following awards: Diane Boyle, $460 for Travel to present at the Midwest Research Society Annual Conference in Cleveland, Ohio. Here topic was 'Enhancing Nursing-Physician Collaboration in ICUs'.

Jan Davidson, $430 for Travel to present at the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners' National Conference in Orlando, Florida. She will be presenting 'Identification of Essential Competencies for Advanced Practice Nurses'. This is material from a study funded previously from Delta Chapter.

Vicki Hicks and Jackie Nowak, $660 each for travel expenses to the Association of Community Health Nursing Educators Spring Institute, Charlottesville, Virginia. They presented 'On-site Health Care Coordination for Urban Disadvantaged Children: A clinical Experience'.

Thanks to Susan Parker and Karen Tarnow for judging the Science Pioneers' Engineering Fair. They presented awards for the following projects:

1st place to Whitney O'Byrne for 'Subliminal Messaging - Effects of Influence on Candy Selection' ($50 & certificate). 2nd place to Ian Lewis for 'The Effect of Distractions on Human Reaction Time' ($30 & certificate) 3rd place to Nathan Wesche for 'Buckle Buddy- an Invention that Keeps Young Children from Undoing Their Seat Belts' ($20 & certificate).

The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Naomi King

jgbError processing SSI file